International Women’s Day

Happy International Women’s Day!

So I identify as a feminist. It took me a while to come to that conclusion – the term seems laden with negative connotations, dragging unbidden into people’s mind images of scary, unshaven man-haters, with no sense of humour – but the turning point for me was reading Caitlin Moran’s book How To Be A Woman. Anyone who wants to know what I mean when I call myself a feminist, read that book – I’ve got it on Kindle, I’m happy to lend! I don’t agree with everything she says in the book: notably, I have a faith, one that’s very important to me, and she doesn’t as far as I can tell. But it’s a must-read, nonetheless.

In summary, Moran’s view of feminism is that it’s not about hating men, nor is it about propagating the perfection of women… it’s simply about equality. About every human being having the same rights, the same opportunities, and being afforded the same love and respect regardless of gender, faith, race or age.

OBVIOUSLY we are different. Obviously. There are physical, emotional and mental trends that are related to gender – this cannot be denied. But that does not make women (or men!) better or worse, it just makes them different.

Equality, not sameness… get it?

Equality not sameness

Equality not sameness

Because of this, it took me a little while to decide what I think about IWD. As a women, I don’t want a token day – do the men have a day? Well, no… it seems like they get the other 364!

Ok, I’m employing a little hyperbole here. I don’t really think it’s that stark a divide… but it does make me a little sad that an annual event like IWD is still necessary. Why should we need a special day to raise awareness of oppression, to celebrate achievement, and highlight the varying struggles worldwide that people are still facing because of their gender? We shouldn’t, is the answer… there shouldn’t be oppression because of gender, achievement should be highlighted based on the merit of the achievement itself, not because it was a woman who achieved it. Female achievements should be as common as male achievements. The varying struggles being faced (from glass ceiling to genital mutilation; from unfair pay gaps to limited or no access to education) should never have come about.

But they have, because humans suck.

(I mean, humans are marvellous and beautiful and passionate and clever and creative and surprising as well… but they also suck.)

So this year, I will wish you, one and all (regardless of gender!) a happy International Women’s Day. Celebrate it by appreciating the women in your life! Maybe donate to a charity that fights for education for women, or take some action, write to your MP… whatever stirs your heart. And maybe, one day in my lifetime, we won’t be celebrating IWD any more.

Because we share all the days equally.

Blow me a kiss

4 thoughts on “International Women’s Day

  1. Dawn Bush

    I applaud the sentiment, and agree with your interpretation, that women are equal to men but not the same. However I suspect there are many both male and female who would wilfully misinterpret what you are trying to say in declaring yourself a feminist. As you say, the term has negative connotations, and those connotations have not only been earned, but have been eagerly adopted by others who call themselves feminist, and who don’t take your broad view on it. Most people you come across will not have read the book. So allow me a small “red flag” comment: if you don’t want to be considered a “scary, unshaven man-hater” as you so eloquently put it, then I would be very discriminating in where you wear said necklace and with whom you share your identification with feminism as a movement. Rightly or wrongly, people will judge you on it. I love and am grateful that women have come so far (in this country at least), with breaking the glass ceiling; but as with many movements that start out well, I think “feminism” is in danger of swinging the pendulum too far in the opposite direction.
    Not trying to annoy or be controversial. Just sayin’.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Linguistics [or: What's In A Name?] | tangled threads of thought

  3. Pingback: Am I Normal Yet?, How Hard Can Love Be? & What’s A Girl Gotta Do? [The Spinster Club trilogy] – Holly Bourne | reading the cereal packet

  4. Pingback: How to be a Grown Up – Daisy Buchanan | reading the cereal packet

Leave a Reply

